Visit-Andalucia logo
Best Travel platform 2021 - 22
Use Keywords to Search our Website for Businesses and Articles

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Andalucia

World Heritage Sites are designated by UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) for having cultural, historical, scientific or other form of significance. The sites are judged to contain "cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity".

The number of World Heritage Sites grows every year. As of 2021, Spain has 49 properties inscribed on the World Heritage List, of which seven are in Andalucia.

Cultural Sites:
Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzín - Granada - Granada province - Inscribed in 1984 and 1994
Cathedral, Alcázar and Archivo de Indias - Seville - Seville province - Inscribed in 1987
Historic City Centre of Córdoba - Córdoba - Córdoba province - Inscribed in 1984 and 1994
Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza - Jaén province - Inscribed in 2003
Caliphate City of Medina Azahara - Cordoba province - Inscribed in 2018

Natural Sites:
Doñana National Park - Huelva province - Inscribed in 1994 and 2005

Combined Cultural and Natural Site:
Antequera Dolmens - Málaga province - Inscribed in 2016

Discover More and Watch our Video

Video by: Julie Evans